School's Out For Summer: Managing Student Accounts
Students may be out of school for the summer, but a lot of them will still want to visit My Big Campus regularly. You can safely leave My Big Campus turned "on" for your students this summer if you wish. Students will appreciate the chance to explore the Library, use Bundles to build their digital portfolios, and practice their digital citizenship skills.
I want to assure administrators and teachers that even if your school is not fully staffed over the break, I and the rest of the My Big Campus team will be monitoring user activities, just as we do when school is in session.
Here are a range of options and best practices to help you manage your users over the summer.
Option 1: Leave Everything as Is
Option 2: Remove Students from Groups
To secure your groups from use while the group owner is away, remove students from all groups.
- If your groups are auto-populated and memberships maintained with SIS imports, you can use a SIS import to remove group members.
- If group owners maintain the group memberships, the group owners can use the Group Maintenance tool to remove members.
NOTE: For users not integrated with the Lightspeed filter: If you have a free account and the students you've given accounts will no longer have you as a teacher, there's a bonus. When your students are removed from all groups, their policy will automatically change to lock down their accounts until they are added to a group again. They'll still be able to log in and browse the Library, but most social activities will be disabled.
Option 3: Adjust Student Policies
Through MBC Administration, you can adjust the policies for students at each school to disable any aspects of the site you don't want them using over the summer, such as student-to-student messaging.
Option 4: Disable Accounts
Very soon, Lightspeed customers will be able to disable accounts using policies. You'll see it as just another check box in the list. I'll have more information about this in a few days. We hope this won't be necessary, and I want to assure you again that My Big Campus is monitored by my staff even during school breaks.
You don't need to (and shouldn't) delete your student users at the end of every term. When you delete user accounts, all user content disappears — content that students and their parents may want to keep, particularly their files and photos. This is especially important for graduating seniors, whose digital portfolios will be valuable for job and college applications. In fact, if you put all graduating seniors in a policy and disable access, in the next few months we will be able to notify them how to access their content through an alumni portal.
I'm interested in hearing from school admins and teachers about how you manage student access during breaks. Let me know in the Comments if you have ideas, tips, or questions.